Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2024

psl live Straeming, Psl live match,

The Pakistan Super League kicks off on Saturday as Lahore Qalandars face Islamabad United. Catch all 34 matches of the 2024 tournament live on SportsOneWorld, culminating in the final on March 18. Look out for English players Alex Hales, Tymal Mills, and James Vince in action.

What is the Pakistan Super League?

Pakistan’s national T20 competition features six teams: Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans, Peshawar Zalmi, and Quetta Gladiators. They will compete in the ninth edition of the tournament here is a psl 9 schedule.

HBL PSL Season 8, Psl 8 winner, Lahore qalandar
Image: Lahore Qalandars have won the previous two editions of the Pakistan Super League

When is it on and how does it work?

The 2024 Pakistan Super League is scheduled from Saturday, February 17, to Monday, March 18. In this edition, the six teams will compete in a double round-robin format, playing each other twice. The top four teams from the league phase will progress to the playoffs.

The teams finishing first and second will contest the opening qualifier, with the victor securing a direct spot in the final. The losing team will have another opportunity to reach the final by facing the winner of an eliminator match between the third and fourth-placed teams.

Babar Azam, Peshawar Zalmi, Pakistan Super League (Getty Images)
Image: Babar Azam is Peshawar Zalmi’s captain

Are all the games broadcasted live on SportsOneWorld?

Yes, indeed. All 34 matches will be aired live. The tournament commences with Lahore Qalandars facing Islamabad United on Saturday, and wraps up with the final showdown in Karachi on Monday, March 18.

Who holds the title currently?

Lahore Qalandars are the reigning champions, clinching the title consecutively in 2022 and 2023. This impressive feat followed their struggles to progress beyond the group stage in five out of the initial six seasons.

Additionally, each PSL team boasts at least one championship win. Islamabad United, alongside Qalandars, holds the distinction of being two-time champions, triumphing in 2016 and 2018. Other title-holders include Peshawar Zalmi (2017), Quetta Gladiators (2019), Karachi Kings (2020), and Multan Sultans (2021) Catch the psl winning teams and more details.

Jason Roy, PSL, Quetta Gladiators (Getty Images)
Image: Jason Roy will play for Quetta Gladiators this season

Which English players are participating?

Plenty of them. In the Islamabad United squad, you’ll find Alex Hales, Tymal Mills, and Jordan Cox. James Vince joins Karachi Kings, while Dan Lawrence represents Lahore Qalandars.

Multan Sultans and Peshawar Zalmi boast four Englishmen each. David Willey, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, and Olly Stone play for Sultans, while Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Luke Wood, Dan Mousley, and Gus Atkinson represent Zalmi. However, Atkinson will only be available for Zalmi if they make the play-offs, as he’s with the England Test squad in India.

Completing the English contingent, Jason Roy, Will Smeed, and Laurie Evans play for Quetta Gladiators.

And what about the top Pakistani players?

They’re in the mix too! Keep an eye out for Babar Azam (Peshawar Zalmi), Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans), and Mohammad Amir (Quetta Gladiators). Plus, Haris Rauf (Lahore Qalandars) might have an extra edge after his Pakistan central contract was terminated for opting out of the recent Test tour of Australia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here