Unbelievable ICC T20 World Cup 2024 final: India beat South Africa by 7 runs|24

icc mens t20 world cup 2024 final

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 final India ended its 13-year wait for the ICC Cricket World Cup trophy. India defeated South Africa in the final of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in a thrilling encounter at the iconic Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. Played on Saturday, June 29, the match saw both teams give their best for cricketing glory.

The Battle Begins

The toss took place as the sun went down and India won the crucial decision by electing to bat first. The stage was set for a thrilling contest and fans were on the edge of their seats.

India’s Batting Master class

India’s top order attacked on all cylinders, with skipper Virat Kohli leading from the front. His brilliant knock of 76 runs off 59 balls carried the innings forward. Contributions from Rohit Sharma (who scored 9 runs) and the explosive Axar Patel (47 runs) helped India post a competitive 176 for 7 in their allotted 20 overs.

Credit to -Canva

South Africa’s Fight back

Chasing 177 runs to win, South Africa fought back bravely. Quinton de Kock (39 runs) and Heinrich Klaasen (52 runs) kept the scoreboard ticking. However, India’s disciplined bowling attack, led by Jasprit Bumrah (2 wickets) and Hardik Pandya (3 wickets), applied the brakes. In the end, South Africa lost by just 7 runs, getting bowled out for 169 for 8.

Player of the Match

Virat Kohli’s match-defining innings earned him the Player of the Match award. His brilliant strokeplay and shrewd captaincy played a key role in India’s victory.

Credit to – Canva

Tournament Highlights

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 saw some great performances. Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Afghanistan) topped the run charts with 281 runs, while Fazalhaq Farooqi (Afghanistan) and Arshdeep Singh (India) shared the highest wicket-taking honours with 17 wickets each1.

Celebrations and Reflections

For India, the win was more than just a trophy; it was a form of liberation after years of near misses. Team coach Rahul Dravid finally tasted success at an ICC event after six attempts. The celebrations spilled over into the streets of India, with fans cheering and fireworks lighting up the night sky.

Credit to – Canva

As the players lifted the coveted trophy, memories of past heartbreak faded. India’s moment had arrived, and they enjoyed it to the fullest, etching their name in cricket history.


1. Has India ever defeated South Africa in the World Cup ?

India beats South Africa to win T20 World Cup cricket title. India’s men’s cricket team won a thrilling final game against South Africa in the Twenty20 World Cup match on Saturday, ending the country’s 13-year drought in the global cricket arena.

2. How many T20 World Cups has India won ?

2 – India are now the third team to win the Men’s T20 World Cup for the second time, having won the inaugural edition in 2007. West Indies were the first team to win two titles, winning in 2012 and 2016, while England won in 2010 and 2022.

3. Did India win the T20 World Cup Final ?

T20 World Cup Final: Fans elated by India’s win over South Africa celebrate, watch! Thousands of Indian team fans took to the streets to celebrate the Men in Blue’s victory in the T20 Men’s World Cup Final. There were celebrations across the country after India defeated South Africa by 7 runs in a thrilling T20 World Cup final.

4. Which Indian has scored the most T20 runs ?

Kohli has played 125 T20I matches in his career, scoring 4188 runs at an average of 48.69 and a strike rate of 137.04. Only Rohit Sharma, with 4231 runs in 159 innings, has managed to score more runs in the format.

5. Who has won the most World Cups in cricket history ?

Australia is the most successful team in the competition’s history, having won six tournaments and finishing runner-up twice. Twice, teams have won consecutive tournaments: the West Indies won the first two editions (1975 and 1979) and Australia won three consecutive editions (1999, 2003 and 2007).

6. How many ICC trophies did India win ?

India’s ICC trophy cabinet now includes six titles. It won the ODI World Cup twice (1983, 2011), the T20 World Cup in 2007 and 2024, and the ICC Champions Trophy in 2002 and 2013.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here